The Australian Symbols

When a person is becoming an Australian citizen her is a lot of content one needs to absorbed. One of the preferable items an applicant for citizenship learns are the Australian symbols and what they mean. For an immigrant to fully integrate to the Australian society, acquiring knowledge of the Australian national symbols benefits the sense of belonging.

When a new citizen adopts a country gaining knowledge of their roots and emblems seals the bond. In this regard is the Australian citizenship test one of the promoters of this phenomenon.

One of the most recognizable symbols would be the kangaroo. Australia is the only place in the planet where kangaroos can be seen. The kangaroo is part of the coat of arms for Australian people. Its companion holding the shield with the six provinces emblems is the emu, the native Australian bird. Is the second largest bird in the world; only seen in Australia as the kangaroo and an icon for Australian people. The emu is hunted for its meat, feathers and oil.

The coat of arms is hold by the Australian National Flower the golden wattle. There is no surprise that this little tree holds the Australian national colors, green and Yellow. In the spring the golden wattle can be seen with its little pointy flowers all over Australia. Is a season of enjoyment and nationalism. Where you can see Australian colors all over the city. Most of the citizens have one golden wattle in their gardens.

Above the shield guarded by the kangaroo and the emu floats the commonwealth star of seven points, one for each of the six states and one for the territories. The star can also be seen in the Australian flag below the Union Jack; symbol of our British roots.

The Australian commonwealth coat of Arms represents the territory and its history. It can be found in almost every governmental document, your passport, your citizenship ID, etc.

There is also one particular symbol inside the Australian National Flag that distinct Australia from the rest of the commonwealth nations. The Southern Cross. Like the North Star in the north hemisphere, the Southern Cross can only be seen from the Ecuador to Antarctica. Is shaped by five stars, four that resembles a cross and one in one of its flanks. Also known as Crux, points to the south helping sailors to find their way home in the furious seas.

Symbols like these one we mentioned in this brief resume can be found in the “Australian citizenship: Our common bond” booklet that prepares you for your citizenship test. Really valuable information for any new citizen and for many of the current Australians. Our country is filled with beautiful things.


  • budi August 3, 2010 at 8:57 am

    i always though nations are build on strong symbols and what a better way to do it than choosing animals for that purpose. specially kangaroos!! i just love them! nice article! budi

  • lady August 10, 2010 at 11:37 am

    i may sound frivolous but i love the autralian flag. the colors, the starts. it looks so powerful. i love this country

Post a Comment

Your email is kept private. Required fields are marked *

Anti-Spam Quiz: